Staff Recognized for Service, Innovation and Teamwork

President Charles J. Dougherty honored employees at the December 21 Staff Awards Holiday Luncheon for their outstanding work in 2012.

Award winners, who were nominated by fellow employees included Mary Ann Hess from the Department of Modern Languages; Tanya Frederick from Gumberg Library; a team from Residence Life; Anthony Cappa from the Office of Admissions; and Jeremy Neeley and Richard Tourtellott from Public Affairs.

Hess received the President’s Distinguished Service Staff Award, the highest honor the University can bestow on a staff member, for consistently demonstrating excellence in the work place. Through her role, Hess supports the study abroad program in Salamanca, the annual Pennsylvania Foreign Language Conference (PAFLC) and the annual Human Rights Film Series. She also has chaired the St. Margaret of Scotland Elementary School’s library committee, served as a member of her parish council, helped local girls’ and boys’ soccer teams, and served as the modern languages departmental coordinator of Daffodil Days.

As recipient of the Consumer Service Award, Frederick was recognized for exceeding expectations of library staff and users. She played a key role in implementing new student training procedures and improving the supervision process.

Innovation Award winners Cappa, Neeley and Tourtellott developed a new viewbook application for the iPad. The application will help enroll future classes of academically talented and technologically sophisticated students by providing an innovative and exciting way to access vital University information.

The Residence Life Team was recognized with the Teamwork Award for demonstrating cooperation, collaboration and open communication on a consistent basis. Comprised of Dan Cangilla, Christopher Collins, Matthew Ireland, Sharon Oelschlager, Anne Sawa and Adam Wasilko, the group worked together to coordinate housing for the largest freshman class in Duquesne’s history.