Annual Assessment Brunch Recognizes Campus Efforts

Posted on January 29, 2014

About 80 faculty, staff and administrators attended the annual assessment brunch on Jan. 23 in appreciation of their contributions to assessment at the University. Awards for $1,000 were presented in three categories: academic affairs, student life and interdivisional.

The winners were:

Academic Affairs
Dr. Bruce Livengood, associate professor of clinical, social and administrative sciences in the Mylan School of Pharmacy, and Dr. Janet Astle, director of experimental education for the pharmacy school, for PharmEd Plus: A Competency-Based Curricular Assessment Web-Based Program. They used assessment results to make targeted changes in the Pharm.D. curriculum for program improvement and as a tool for mentoring and advising individual students.

Student Life
Dr. Ian Edwards, director of the University Counseling Center, for Student Wellbeing Pilot/Trial Course: Wellbeing: Theory and Practice. Edwards developed this course for students and assessed its effectiveness in supporting student development.

Dr. Lina Dostilio, director of academic community engagement, for Programmatic Student Learning Outcomes Assessment for Service-Learning. Dostilio documented a comprehensive, mission-driven approach to assessing learning in University core service-learning courses. She had broad participation in the process, communicated systematically with stakeholders and has taken actions to improve student outcomes based upon assessment results.

Honorable mentions awardees:

  • Dr. Leesa DiBartola, assistant professor and director of clinical education in the Department of Physical Therapy in the Rangos School of Health Sciences, and Dr. Kenneth Havrilla, assistant professor and assistant director of clinical education in the physical therapy department, for Assessing Clinical Education
  • Dr. Tammy Hughes, the Fr. Martin A. Hehir Endowed Chair for Scholarly Excellence and chair of counseling, psychology and special education in the School of Education; David A. Nolfi, health sciences librarian in the Gumberg Library; and Sarah J. Sperry, executive director of alumni relations and annual giving, for Undergraduate Alumni Survey
  • Dr. Laverna Saunders, University librarian, for Gumberg Library Printing Initiative.

The award applications were reviewed by a committee chaired by Dr. Laurel Willingham McLain, director of the Center for Teaching Excellence, with members Rebecca Mickler, director of Greek Life; Susan Monahan, director of student conduct; and Dr. Susan Munson, associate dean in the School of Education.

  • Archives

  • Feedback