Grants Received

Funds totaling $495,960 were awarded to the Mylan School of Pharmacy and the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences.

  • Dr. Jelena Janjic, assistant professor of pharmaceutics, and founder and co-director of the Chronic Pain Research Consortium (CPRC), received an award $165,000 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), titled Theranostic Pain Nanomedicines: Imaging Inflammation, Reducing Pain and Need for Opiods. Dr. Janjic is the principal investigator on the award. Drs. John Pollock, professor of biological sciences and co-director of CPRC, and Dr. Ben Kolber, assistant professor of biological studies, are co-investigators. This is Year 1 funding of a two-year project.
  • Drs. Jeff Evanseck and Jeffry Madura, professors of chemistry and biochemistry, $80,960, from the NIH, NIDA, for A Joint Computational/Experimental Biomedical Summer Research Program for Undergraduates. This is Year 5 of funding, bringing the total award amount to date to $417,990.
  • Dr. Alan Seadler, associate vice provost for research and technology, $250,000, from an anonymous donor to support the development of a community wet lab.