Staff Award Winners Announced at 2016 Christmas Luncheon

President Ken Gormley honored recipients of Duquesne University’s 2016 Staff Awards during the annual faculty and staff holiday luncheon, held on Dec. 22.

Each year, Duquesne recognizes individual and team efforts that go above and beyond regularly assigned duties. All full- and part-time staff members who have been at the University for at least two years are eligible to be nominated for the awards.

The 2016 Staff Award winners are:

President’s Spirit of Duquesne Award

Alia Pustorino-Clevenger, director for student life assessment and cocurricular community engagement, Duquesne University Volunteers (DUV)

This award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the Duquesne mission of serving God by serving students through commitment to excellence in education; concern for moral and spiritual values; maintaining an atmosphere open to diversity; and service to the community.

Innovation Award: DORI Student Notification Team

Heather Adamic, Joe Ball, Joseph DeCrosta, Mark Dunn, Valerie Harper, Karen Herman, Kim Hoeritz, Karen Kiedaisch, Timothy Lewis, Julie Michael, Chad Painter, Monika Schwartz, Beth Schwerer, Kevin Smith, Jill Spitzagel, Peng Zhang

This award acknowledges an individual or a team that has developed a solution to a challenging problem to improve the University’s organizational effectiveness through a new method, approach, service or product.

Quality Service Award

Sean Flaherty, outcomes coordinator, School of Nursing

Through a consistent commitment to provide quality service as set forth in the University’s Mission Statement to both internal and external constituents, this individual provides service with timely and appropriate follow-up and is responsive to the needs of students, staff, faculty or other stakeholders.

Teamwork Award: Pa. Junior Academy of Science (PJAS) Team

Marlo Ayres, Mary Jo Babinsack, Scott Boesch, Anthony Cappa, Philip Clarke, Margaret Cowburn, Denise Faix, Carolyn Hawk, Melissa Loughner, Kelley Maloney, Jeff Palastro, Megan Peterson, Tamia Pringle, Lauren Turin, Grace Sommers, Amelia Stroyne, Ninthya Vadithayan, Sean Weaver, Debra Zugates

This award honors a team for completing a major project or achieving a significant goal in an outstanding manner. This team engaged others throughout the University in working toward a common goal by providing support and motivation.

Employees celebrating milestones of five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service also were recognized during the luncheon.

Visit for more information about the annual Staff Awards and for an archive of past recipients.